Week 1: Weather for [Sailing] Dummies.

IMG_20160514_095718397_HDR

Everyone says the first week is the most difficult, right?  Or is that the second week?  I guess it doesn’t really matter, they’ll all be history before long.  Week 1 was no huge challenge, other than the weather.  Storms have forced me to reschedule my lessons twice now, but after punishing us for a week Mother Nature gave us a gorgeous Saturday.

I boarded the flying scot with two other amateurs and we spent the day bouncing around the Potomac and working on our sunburns.  We learned the basics: rigging, tacking, jibing and – most importantly – how to test the patience limit of your instructor while trying to avoid a sudden storm.

Only one day on the water this season and all I can think about is getting out there again.  The final part of my training is set for this weekend, and I’m preoccupied with knots and points of sail.  Everything will settle down before long, but the honeymoon period is nice, isn’t it?  I’m sure I’ll look back on this time from the pitching deck of a ship in the middle of the Atlantic and laugh at myself.  Until then just leave me to enjoy the naivete.

My calendar tells me that there are 124 days left before I leave for training.  I can’t believe how quickly the time has gone, and I’m sure 124 more days will feel like nothing at all.  There’s so much more to do!  So many more knots to learn…

The biggest realization that being out on the water has given me is that all of this is real.  It’s easy to submit applications, make plans, start shitty blogs, and talk a big game – but being out there and spending time with the wind and water really make the whole dream so much more tangible.  It’s exhilarating and encouraging.

Leave a Reply

